Ardour 3 doesn't function as I want it to

Hello,
I’m running Ardour version 3.5.380 on ‘Tango Studio’, a Debian derivative, 64bit.

The problems I’m having are:

• I have already ‘lost’ two projects, what I mean is, more than half of my plugins couldn’t get ‘found’ and so I lost my work.
    I don’t want this to be happening anymore of course. :slight_smile:

• After I have some plugins loaded in my (mixing) project or some automation it gets superslow and it crashes from time to time.

Two times -when Ardour crashed- it showed me a message saying that: "The disk system on your computer was not able to keep up with Ardour.

Specifically, it failed to read data from disk quickly enough to keep up with playback."

I’m kind of baffled and don’t know what to do next.
I have an Acer ASPIRE 5750G laptop with 6GB RAM.
As far as I understand there is a problem with my harddrive?

I can get along a little with command line in Linux but I’m not a professional in any way and except for knowing the kinds hardware and the fact that an SDD drive is much faster than a ‘normal’ HDD and that there are different rotations per minute with different kinds of hard drives,
I’m still a layman
(I hope I’m using the right word, I’m not English.)
when it comes down to this stuff.

Greetz from Belgium.

Two times -when Ardour crashed- it showed me a message saying that: "The disk system on your computer was not able to keep up with Ardour.

On almost any modern system the one thing that message doesn’t indicate is a problem with the disk system on your machine… Its far more likely there was some other (software) issue (or just a bug in ardour)

In laptops there are most of the time hard disk running at 5400rpm instead of 7200, so they have slow data transfer.
Can’t this be the problem in bigger projects?
Or there something on the background running that ‘steels’ resources.

Also belgian, but i don’t have a clue what a layman is :-).