Ardour 3.5.308 Can't create new session any more

Hello all;

So, I was able to record 4 multitrack sessions in Ardour and then one day, it decided that It won’t create a new session.
Click on new, type in a name, the audio config windows comes up, I click ok, wait and then the error: Could not reconnect to the Audio/MIDI engine. Then I get:

Could not create session in “/home/myusername/3”

which is where the other 4 sessions are.

This is without starting Jack as Ardour would do the magic for me…so I thought I would reboot, start Jack and then repeat the above process. Oddly enough, the Audio/MIDI setup window pops up again and I get the exact same messages. If try to re-calibrate it tells me that:

Your selected audio configuration is playback- or capture-only.
Latency calibration requires playback and capture

I’ve done this already with results.

So…what am I missing? I am pretty new to this after using Adobe Audition under Windoze for years.

I have added my username to the audio group for real time (previous issue I found a fix for) and my audio.conf is not disabled.

I’m on Ubuntu 12.04LTS running on an ASUS G74SX and I’m running straight into the mic jack from my Pocket Pod.

Thanks in advance!

D

Did you install Ardour from ardour.org or your Linux distribution?

No. I had used the previous version but had problems getting sound into the machine. So, I purchased Ardour 3 (removed the old version first) and used the download link and followed the instructions from the site for my install. It worked Flawlessly for 4 sessions with no changes to my system and then the error’s started per my previous post.

Acutally, its YES to ardour.org.

Open a Terminal window and run the following command there (substituting for Ardour-VERSION appropriately):

strace -f -e trace=open /opt/Ardour-VERSION/bin/ardour3 2>&1 | tee /tmp/ardour.out

Do whatever you do to get the cannot-open-session error. Then quit.