Ardoud export is unreadable by any other application

Hello, I’m a complete Ardour novice, but I sincerely tried to find the answer to question myself, still haven’t managed to find anything.

So my problem is that exporting session (or range) in Ardour goes excellent, and I can later import it into Ardour itself - the sound is there, everything is fine. But other applications (like vlc or audacity) refuse to open this exported audio files (complaining about unknown format and file being corrupted etc). I tried WAV, OGG, FLAC, both mono and stereo, both little and big endian, also I tried to export as a raw data - still no success.

Excuse me If my question is stupid or has been already already answered earlier, I really coudn’t find it around the internet and here.

BTW, I’m running Ubuntu 10.10, Ardour 2.8.11 from the repo, and I run it as a root user.

Thank you in advance for any help.

What are all the settings you are using, I would bet you are setting something up that other software isn’t flexible enough to read.

Seablade

Thanks for anwering, Seablade!

Here are, for example, the settings I just tried to use and the file was not recognized by other programs:

channels: stereo
file type: WAV
sample format: 16 bit
sample endianness: little-endian (gray, cannot be changed for this format)
sample rate: 44.1kHz
conversion quality: best
dither type: none
cd marker type: none
in the list on the right “Audio1: out-1” is checked for the left channel and “Audio1: out-2” for the right one.

But as I said earlier, I tried to adjust each of these settings. Are there more settings beyond the Export window that I’m not aware of and can lead to such behavior?