Another no output problem

I am new to both Linux and Ardour. Running Mint v20.3…

Audio System: ALSA
Input Device: HDA Intel PCH
Output Device: HDA Intel PCH
Sample Rate: 44.1
Buffer Size: 1024
Period: 2
Input Ch: all available
Output Ch: all available
Hardware input latency: 0
Hardware output latency: 0
MIDI System: ALSA raw devices

I have some looped audio regions playing, and nothing is coming through my speakers. When I look at the OS sound preferences, under the applications tab, it states “No application is currently playing or recording audio”.

I am seeing level in the master section. When I pull up the Master Output matrix, under the hardware tab it shows L & R connected to playback_1 & playback_2, respectively.

What else can I check?

Hi,

I guess it’s from pulseaudio sound manager. If you use Ardour with ALSA backend, there is no sound in pulseaudio.

maybe alsamixer in a terminal, then F6 to select the device and check if some outputs (‘Master’, ‘Speakers’) are muted (with a ‘MM’ under the meter/fader). If so, type ‘M’ on your keyboard to mute/unmute .

1 Like

you have the computer’s internal soundcard set. Is that what your speaker’s are connected to? or do you have another soundcard i.e. usb audio interface, pci soundcard… ?
if you are using the internal soundcard, open up a GUI frontend for alsamixer (like Qasmixer or whatever is available in the Mint Repos). Pull up your soundcard and either play with those settings or give us a screenshot so we can guide you.

1 Like

If you are showing input … check the I and D on the left of the screen under the add plug-in area those buttons are for monitoring the D for the recorded tracks and I for incoming sound. For monitoring the input click the I, for recorded tracks the D needs to be lit up.

1 Like