Advice for workflow: Record same singer multiple times for choir sound

Hi,

I want to create a one-man-choir sound using only one singer but recording that person 6-8 times per voice (tenor1, tenor2, bariton, bass). I know that it will not sound like an actual choir. This is actually intended.

My question concerns the workflow in Ardour.

I currently have two ideas how to do this:

1. Each recording gets a unique track. All tracks of a voice go to one bus (so I can do some voice specific EQing)
  2. One track per voice and use overdubbing.

I am fairly new to producing music so I would be very interested, how you would tackle this. Maybe there is even a better solution I do not know?

Thanks in advance!
Thomas

One track for each ā€˜voiceā€™ that is going to be part of the final project, so for instance if you want two tenors, that would be two tracks, or one tenor one bass, would be two tracks. I would then use takes/layered editing or playlists to comp down multiple recordings to make the voice as needed. I would EQ/process tracks as needed for the voice, then likely for your case buss down multiple tenor voices to a tenor buss so I could rebalance as needed easily or group process if needed.

Hope that helps.

Seablade
1 Like

hmmā€¦ I think this is not what I intended. The idea is to mix 6-8 recordings per voice so it would be like 6-8 people singing per voice. I.e. 6-8 overdubs per voice.

Just record your 6-8 voices on separate tracks and then as @seabladeā€™s suggestion, route all voices of the same type to their own bus. The idea would be to balance all the individual tracks and then you can, for example, use the bus fader to adjust all tenors at the same time.

Iā€™m about to do the same thing for a virtual choir performance of 50+ singers. As you point out, when using the same singer to record everything (Iā€™ve done it myself) it wonā€™t sound quite like a real choir but with some panning, reverb etc you should be able to make something that works.