Adding a plugin makes audio suddenly go to the left channel only

I haven’t changed my workflow, but for some reason ardour is behaving differently.

I’m a beginner with ardour despite using it for a long time; I only understand it a little, but at the same time, I have a basic workflow that has been getting the job done for me for quite some time. I record a single track through a single mic. As far as I understand, it’s a mono track, but I don’t understand if ardour supports stereo tracks. All I know is I’m recording a single source to a single track. I can pan left or right. I can add plugins.

All of a sudden this evening, when I added a plugin (calf compressor [not calf mono compressor], which I’ve used in this workflow exactly like this probably 100 times or more), the audio suddenly started coming out of only the left earpiece. I thought it must be a hardware issue even though it happened exactly when I added the plugin (from my favorites; the exact same plugin I’ve used tons of times), so I started spinning my headset plug and twisting dials on my audio interface, but nothing helped. Finally I removed the plugin and suddenly the audio was in both ears again!

I closed and reopened ardour thinking it was a glitch, but the same thing is still happening. I haven’t changed anything, but now I can’t use plugins. Add a plugin, and the audio disappears from the right earpiece. This has never happened before, and I haven’t changed anything, and I can’t figure out how to fix it. This is weird and stressful. Anyone have any idea what the heck is happening? Thanks!

Yes, it does. But, typically, microphones and instruments like guitars are mono instruments.

There are cases where you can have stereo mic setups, or guitars (for example) going through processing units which give stereo output. In these cases you can create a stereo track.

But for mono sources, like your mic, you would normally have a mono track as you are only capturing a single channel.