add a dll file

hi im a newbie in terminal and ardour,
i have .dll file in my folder, where should i move the file so i can run the vst in ardour, what should i type?

thanks

i have ".dll" file...

Use Windows. Seriously, if you want to use Windows plug-ins (which I assume is what your .dll file is), then you should be using Windows and a Windows host application not balancing a wobbly stack of translation layers, emulations and nasty hacks on top of linux.

hendra: more extensively: http://manual.ardour.org/working-with-plugins/windows-vst-support/

I agree with linux dsp, there are ways to get vst plugins to load in linux, wether or not they function correctly if at all is another story.

Ive managed to load some windows plugins an festige (a kx studio app for loading vsts) but it was niether stable of usable.

some plugins may work ok, some may be unstable, some may not even work at all.

Ardour can support vsts but again its no guarentee that it will work and you need to build it yourself.

If you are into your games and have tried console emulators then you will see what problems they have, even when emulating old outdated systems on new powerfull computers, sometimes there is just no way of reliably emulating the hardware on consoles, the same goes with operating systems. Sometimes they are so different that trying to emulate 1 system on another is so complex that either the time and resources are not there to be able to develop it or that it just isnt actually possible.

Another way to think about it is with launguage, in 1 launguage you say something, in another laungauge it doesnt translate the same because it has a different meaning even though the words are the same, or there just isnt the words to descibe what your syaing in the other lanugage

veda_sticks: linuxdsp was talking about native Linux VST, not Windows VST. I think …

@paul:

linuxdsp was talking about native Linux VST, not Windows VST. I think ...